Research


Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects

Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2015-10-01 - 2019-09-30

When dealing with emergency, two issues with fully different time requirements and operational objectives, and thus different methods and tools, have to be considered: emergency preparedness and emergency response. This project will address both issues by combining the efforts of organizations active in these two areas to make already identified deterministic reference tools and methods a decisive step toward. In particular capabilities of these methods and tools will be extended to tackle main categories of accident scenarios in main types of operating or foreseen water-cooled NPPs in Europe, including Spent Fuel Pools. A first task will be the identification of these categories of scenario, the proposition of a methodology for their description and the development of a database of scenarios. Building this database will constitute a first important step in the harmonisation goal defended in this project. Promising probabilistic approaches based on Bayesian Belief Networks (BBN) are currently developed to complement operational deterministic methodologies and tools by contributing to diagnosis accidental situations. The development of the methodologies will be pursued in this project with the extension of the existing deterministic ones to European reactors. Both approaches will be assessed against the above mentioned database of scenarios. Finally a comprehensive set of emergency exercises will be developed and proposed to be run by a large set of partners. A first series of exercises will address source term evaluations that will be compared to the reference source terms from the scenarios database. Then a second series of exercises will be proposed on the same scenarios that will be used for the first series but accounting for the main emergency objective : to protect the populations. Progresses made by the methods and tools developed within this project will be notably assessed by comparing the results obtained in these two series of exercises.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2014-11-01 - 2014-12-31

The design of a piston-less solar powered water pump should be improved. Scoping calculations should allow to optimize the efficiency of the pump, especially by minimizing the significant heat loss by condensation during the pump stroke. Assuming that the initial conditions do not change, a number of computer aided calculations should be performed. The following parameters should be looked at: * Initial pressure in the pressure vessel (1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 5.0 bar) * Initial temperature of the steam (saturation, 200°C, 300°C, 400°C, 500°C) * Volume of the pumping vessel * Presence of saturated water in the pressure vessel (level of 5cm)
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2014-10-01 - 2018-05-30

In the planned project the basis for the assessment of roof-mounted small wind turbines (SWT) in urban areas is created. Therefore, on one side methods for the characterisation of turbulent wind flow fields are developed and on the other side the impacts of turbulent wind conditions with reference to selected turbulence indicators on the performance of small wind turbines (SWT) are investigated. Two different small wind technologies are tested at an urban as well as at a rural site. An impact analysis is conducted in order to answer question regarding technical planning and safety for the application of small wind turbines in urban areas are investigates. Additionally, in this project the question how to evaluate sites in urban areas for the application of small wind turbines is addressed.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Forschung


Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2015-10-01 - 2019-09-30

Beim Umgang mit Notfällen müssen zwei Probleme mit komplett unterschiedlichen Zeitanforderungen und operativen Zielen, und damit unterschiedlichen Methoden und Werkzeugen, in Betracht gezogen werden: Notfallvorsorge und Notfallmaßnahmen. Dieses Projekt wird in beiden Feldern entscheidende Schritte setzen, indem Organisationen, die in diesen beiden Bereichen aktiv sind, bereits identifizierte deterministische Werkzeuge und Methoden bereitstellen. Die Möglichkeiten dieser Methoden und Werkzeuge werden erweitert, um Hauptkategorien von Unfallszenarien in Haupttypen von Betriebs abzusehen wassergekühlten Kernkraftwerke in Europa, einschließlich abgebrannter Brennelemente Pools anzugehen. Eine erste Aufgabe ist die Identifizierung von Kategorien und Szenarien durch eine Methodik für die Beschreibung und den Aufbau einer Datenbank von Szenarien. Aufbau dieser Datenbank wird ein erster wichtiger Schritt bei der in diesem Projekt sein. Vielversprechende probabilistische Ansätze, die auf Bayes Belief Networks (BBN) beruhen, werden derzeit entwickelt, um Betriebsdeterministische Methoden und Instrumente zu ergänzen. Die Entwicklung der Methoden wird in diesem Projekt mit der Erweiterung der bestehenden deterministischen für die europäischen Reaktoren verfolgt werden. Beide Ansätze sind gegen die oben genannten Datenbank von Szenarien zu beurteilen. Ein umfassendes Set von Notfallübungen wird entwickelt und vorgeschlagen, das von einer großen Gruppe von Partnern durchgeführt werden kann. In anfänglichen Übungen werden Quellterm und Zeitreihen, die mit der Referenzquelle aus der Szenarien Datenbank verglichen werden, zu ermitteln sein. Bei späteren Übungen werden die gleichen Szenarien, die für die erste Serie verwendet werden wurden, noch einmal durchgespielt, es werden aber Schwerpunkte für die wichtigsten Notfallziele vorgeschlagen werden. Der Vergleich dieser beiden Übungen, sowie Fortschritte in der Entwicklung von Methoden und Werkzeugen im Rahmen dieses Projektes, stellen die wichtigsten Ergebnisse dar.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2014-11-01 - 2014-12-31

Die Bauweise einer kolbenlose solarthermisch getriebene Wasserpumpe soll verbessert werden. Rahmenrechnungen sollen die Optimierung der Effizienz der Pumpe ermöglichen, insbesondere durch Minimierung der erheblichen Wärmeverluste durch Kondensation während des Hubvorganges. Dazu sollen mit gleichbleibenden Ausgangsbedingungen Computerrechnungen durchgeführt werden. Folgende Parameter sind dabei zu untersuchen: * Anfangsdruck im Druckbehälter (1.5, 2.0, 3.0, 5.0 bar) * Anfangstemperatur des Dampfes (von Sättigung, 200°C, 300°C, 400°C, 500°C) * Volumen des Pumpenbehälters (2,1 l und 4.2 l) * Vorhandensein von Sattwasser im Druckbehälter (Füllhöhe 5 cm)
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2014-10-01 - 2018-05-30

Im vorliegenden Projektvorhaben werden die Grundlagen für die technische Beurteilung des Einsatzes von Kleinwindenergieanlagen (KWEA) im urbanen Raum geschaffen. Dazu werden einerseits Methoden zur Charakterisierung von turbulenten Strömungsfeldern entwickelt und andererseits die Auswirkungen von turbulenten Strömungsbedingungen anhand ausgewählter Turbulenzeigenschaften auf die Performance von KWEA analysiert. Dabei werden zwei verschiedene KWEA-Technologien sowohl an einem urbanen, als auch einem ländlichen Standort betrachtet. In einer experimentellen Wirkungsanalyse werden planungs- und sicherheitstechnischen Aspekte für die Anwendung von KWEA im urbanen Raum untersucht. Auf Basis dieser Ergebnisse wird in diesem Projekt ein Standort-Bewertungsschema für die Errichtung von KWEA im urbanen Raum entwickelt.

Betreute Hochschulschriften