Institute profile


Mission Statement

Our institute focuses on research of the water cycle where water interacts with soil. The aim is to optimize the sustainable use of the resources water and soil.

Research focus: Rural water management and soil physics

The term "rural water management" has evolved from rural water engineering in Austria and is now a key discipline of agricultural engineering and water management (Kulturtechnik und Wasserwirtschaft). It comprises the following terms:

  • Land improvement (Landeskultur): All planning and acting to optimize the use of the natural potential and preserve it as a basis for life
  • Water management (Wasserwirtschaft): Systematic management of surface and underground water reservoirs

Theoretical principles and measurements act as foundation for solving applied questions within the discipline. Thus, the meaning of rural water management can be expressed as a pyramid (see figure):

Typical rural water management tasks can be derived from the pyramid plot. This includes assessment of risks related to land use, vulnerability of rural regions and its interactions with the conservations of soils and the soil water cycle. It also includes social aspects that emerge from a changing environment and that result in knowledge transfer – especially in development cooperation.

Typical methods are lysimeters, the determination of soil and water balance parameters, monitoring of physical state variables in soils, sensor calibration and testing, and numerical and physical modelling and simulations.

Our team has competences in the following disciplines: Water in soils, water in soil-plant-atmosphere-continuum (SPAC), soil and groundwater conservation, and rural water management in arid and semi-arid regions. By this, our institute contributes to the competence area "Water, Atmosphere and Environment" of the BOKU.

We also cover the following topics:

  • Soil erosion by wind and water
  • Impact of the following boundary conditions on the use of agricultural and forest areas:
    • changing environmental conditions, climate change
    • Land set-aside, conservative soil management, regulation of the soil water balance (assessment of technical activities, cost-benefit analysis)
    • ÖPUL constraints, validation of activities
  • Impact of land use and soil management and its change on the soil water balance
  • Transport processes in the vadose zone from the lysimeter to the field and catchment scale (scale challenge)
  • Solute transport in the vadose zone and groundwater: Point source and diffusive inputs of nutrients and contaminants (e.g., nitrate, pesticides) in soils
  • Monitoring of parameters and state variables of the soil water, experiments in the field and laboratory, measurement instrumentation, characterization of the spatial variability and derivation of effective parameters, numerical simulations
  • Agricultural water management (irrigation, drainage): plant water demand, irrigation scheduling, economical assessment, conservation of agricultural drainage systems

Applied research on hydraulics

Together with the Institute of Water Management, Hydrology and Hydraulic Engineering, we operate a hydraulic engineering laboratory equipped with an experimental channel to analyze applied hydraulical problems. Examples are the determination of energy losses of tube or channel constructions, the behaviour of mineral oil in a separator, water inflow to a well in a strained aquifer, construction of efflux monitoring systems, or the designing of overfalls.

Teaching

Our institute covers the topics rural water management, soil physics, and hydraulics in the Bachelor and Master studies of agricultural engineering and water management. Besides, we also teach courses in the following master studies: Water Management and Environmental Engineering (WMEE), Natural Resources Management and Ecological Engineering (NARMEE), and Environmental Sciences – Soil, Water and Biodiversity (ENVEURO).

Institutsprofil


Mission Statement

Ureigenste Aufgabe des Institutes in der Forschung und Lehre ist jener Teil des Wasserkreislaufs, in dem das Wasser in Wechselwirkung mit dem Boden tritt. Dabei gilt es, die Ressourcen Wasser und Boden opti­mal zu nutzen, zu schützen und als Lebensgrundlage nachhaltig zu sichern.

Forschung: Landeskulturelle Wasserwirtschaft und Bodenphysik

Die landeskulturelle Wasserwirtschaft hat sich aus dem landwirtschaftlichen Wasserbau entwickelt und zählt zu den zentralen Disziplinen der "Kulturtechnik und Wasserwirtschaft". Jene umfasst folgende Begriff

  • Landeskultur: Alles Planen und Handeln, um das gegebene Naturpotential best­möglich zu gestalten, zu nutzen sowie als Lebensgrundlage für die Allgemeinheit nachhaltig zu sichern
  • Wasserwirtschaft: Planmäßige Bewirtschaftung des ober- und unterirdischen Wasser­vorrates

Theoretische Grundlagen einer- und Messungen andererseits bilden die Basis zur Lösung vieler Fragestellungen aus dem Fachgebiet. So gesehen kann die landeskulturelle Wasser­wirtschaft als Pyramide aufgefasst werden (sh. Abbildung).

Aus den in der Pyramide angeführten Sachgebieten können typische Aufgaben der landeskulturellen Wasserwirtschaft abgeleitet werden. Dazu zählen die Behandlung der sich ändern­den Risiken in der Landnutzung, der Vulnerabilität des ländlichen Raumes und ihr Zusam­menhang mit dem Boden- und Bodenwasserschutz sowie dem Wasserhaushalt. Soziale Aspekte, die die geänderten Rahmenbedingungen auslösen, werden einbezogen und Betrof­fene durch Wissenstransfer beraten – insbesondere in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Als Methoden dienen die Lysimetrie, die Bestimmung von Boden- und Wasser­haus­halts­parametern, das Monitoring von physikalischen Zustandsgrößen im Boden (inklusive Mess­datenmanagament), die Prüfung hierzu notwendiger Sensoren sowie die numerische und physikalische Modellierung und Simulation.

Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Institutes besitzen Kompetenzen in folgenden Bereichen: Wasser im Boden, Beziehung Boden-Wasser-Pflanze, Boden- und Grundwasser­schutz und die landeskulturelle Wasserwirtschaft in ariden und semi-ariden Gebieten. Damit trägt das Institut hauptsächlich zum Kompetenzfeld „Wasser – Atmosphäre – Umwelt“ der Universität maßgeblich bei.

Des Weiteren erarbeitet das Institut Beiträge zu folgenden Themen:

  • Bodenerosion durch Wind und Wasser
  • Auswirkungen folgender Punkte auf die Nutzung land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Flächen:
    • geänderte Umweltbedingungen, Klimawandel
    • Flächenstilllegungen, ressourcenschonende Bewirtschaftung, gezielte technische Maßnahmen, z. B. Regelung des Bodenwasserhaushalts (Bewertung von Maßnahmen, Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse)
    • ÖPUL-Auflagen, Validierung der Maßnahmen
  • Einflüsse von Bodennutzung, -bearbeitung und Änderung der Landnutzung auf den Bodenwasserhaushalt
  • Transportvorgänge auf der Lysimeter- und der Feldskala bis hin zur Einzugs­gebiets­ebene (Skalenproblematik)
  • Stofftransport in der teilgesättigten Bodenzone und im Grundwasser (punktförmige und diffuse Einträge von Nähr- und Schadstoffen wie Nitrat und Pflanzenschutzmittel in land-, forstwirtschaftlich und anderweitig genutzten Böden und ihr Zusammenhang mit dem Bodenwasserhaushalt)
  • Erfassung von Parametern und Zustandsgrößen (Bodenwasserstatus), Monitoring, Feld- und Laborexperimente, Messtechnik, Charakterisierung räumlicher Variabilität und Ableitung effektiver Parameter, numerische Simulationen
  • Landwirtschaftliche Be- und Entwässerung: Pflanzenwasserbedarf, Bewäs­serungssteuerung, Wirtschaftlichkeit, Erhaltung von Entwässerungsanlagen

Angewandte Forschung zur Hydraulik

In dem mit einem Versuchsgerinne ausgestatteten, gemeinsam mit dem IWHW betriebenen Wassserbaulabor werden angewandte hydraulische Problemstellungen untersucht. Beispiele hierzu sind die Bestimmung von Energiehöhenverlusten von Rohr- oder Gerinneeinbauten, das Verhalten von Mineralöl in einem Abscheider, die Zuströmung zu einem Brunnen bei gespannten Verhältnissen, die Errichtung von Abflussmesssystemen oder die Gestaltung von Überfällen für architektonische Zwecke.

Lehre

Das Institut deckt im Bachelor- und Masterstudium der Kulturtechnik und Wasserwirtschaft (KTWW) die Themenbereiche Landeskulturelle Wasserwirtschaft, Bodenphysik und Hydrau­lik ab. Daneben werden auch Lehrveranstaltungen für wesentliche Bereiche folgender Master­studien angeboten: Water Management and Environmental Engineering (WMEE), Natural Resources Management and Ecological Engineering (NARMEE) und Environmental Sciences – Soil, Water and Biodiversity (ENVEURO).