Research


Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects

Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2017-04-01 - 2020-03-31

Soil erosion processes are highly dependent on the rainfall energy which is a function of the size and falling velocity of raindrops. Interactions between raindrop size, velocity and shape, wind speed and the intensity of the thunderstorm control the power of the erosive storm. As raindrops increase in size, their terminal velocity and momentum increase. Increasing raindrop size increases their kinetic energy which affects soil detachment and transport processes. Limited data on raindrop characteristics are available; most studies were performed in a laboratory or field setting covering only a few storms. Objectives of this study are to 1) quantify and compare drop size distributions of rainfall events at comparable locations in Austria, Czech Republic, and New Zealand, 2) derive rainfall kinetic energy (KE) - intensity (I) relationships for rainfall erosivity estimation, 3) evaluate temporal/seasonal distribution of the KE-I relationship, and 4) investigate the relationship between rainfall erosivity and soil erosion. At several sites in Austria, Czech Republic and New Zealand disdrometers will be installed to determine the erosive force of rainstorms. Relationships between rainfall kinetic energy and intensity will be determined with respect to seasonal/monthly variability. For those sites with measured wind data, the impact of wind speed and direction will be evaluated. Next to the disdrometers small erosion plots will be installed to register the erosive force of the rainfall events. Based on the obtained results we will check and possibly modify and adapt the existing correlations between rainfall energy and soil detachment and transport.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2015-10-01 - 2018-09-30

As the demand for agricultural products and the occurrence of extreme weather conditions increase, the resources soil and water are more attracted by the public. Therefore, an adaptive land use as a preventative element for soil and water conservation gains in importance. Planning of adaptation strategies are often based on the application of numerical models. With these models, the impact of hypothetical changes in land use under recent and changing climatic conditions on plant growth and water balance components can be estimated and evaluated. As a pre-requisite in existing models, soil hydraulic properties are seen to be temporally constant. However, previous studies have shown that soil structure and with it the soil water retention and hydraulic conductivity functions change significantly as a result of land use. If the dynamics of soil structure are neglected, the uncertainty of the model results increases. This could lead to incorrect planning and a more resources-consuming land use. Therefore, the objectives of this study are a) to measure landuse-induced changes in soil structure and in the soil hydraulic properties and b) the implementation of the results into hydrological models that quantify the changes using mathematical equations. These equations describe temporal changes of soil water retention and hydraulic conductivity based on the evolution in the soil pore-size distribution for different land use pratices (e.g., soil tillage, crop rotation, afforestation). To derive general principles for the influence of land use on hydrologically relevant soil properties, we will analyze comparable land use practices with similar soils along a climatic transect from Brandenburg to Styria. For the characterization of the soil hydraulic properties, field methods (hood infiltrometer and dye tracer experiments) will be combined with laboratory methods (transient evaporation experiments). This approach allows a better differentiation between macropore and matrix flow domains, which may be fundamental for the development of functions describing land use-induced changes of the soil pore space. We expect that the different land use measures will have a stronger influence on the macropores. The study will increase our knowledge about soil pore space changes under different land use pratices. Basing on a better understanding of the involved processes we will develop methods and models that are able to quantify the impact of an adaptive land use on the soil hydraulic properties, on components of the water cycle (soil water capacity, groundwater recharge, water quality), and on the production of biomass. This will be the basis for the development and assessment of sustainable land use systems.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2013-07-01 - 2014-06-30

Using the simulation model HYDRUS water movement from loamy to clayey soil, which is affected by preferential flow, will be simulated. In various depths moisture content and suction head will be measured by sensors. To complete the simulation with HYDRUS inverse modelling will be employed to estimate the unknown parameters and boundary conditions. The feasibility of detecting and quantifying the preferential flux at different depths during rapid percolation events will be explored. Further, the results of this research will make it possible to improve the estimate of water balance and water pollution risk in similar soils, especially in regions affected by intensive agriculture or mining.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Forschung


Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2017-04-01 - 2020-03-31

Bodenerosionsprozesse hängen wesentlich von der Energie des Niederschlages ab. Diese stellt eine Funktion der Größe und Fallgeschwindigkeit der Regentropfen dar. Interaktionen zwischen Tropfengröße, -geschwindigkeit und –form, Windgeschwindigkeit und Intensität des Ereignisses bestimmen die Kraft des erosiven Regens. Nimmt die Tropfengröße zu steigt auch ihre Fallgeschwindigkeit und ihr Impuls, was sich auf das Loslösen der Bodenpartikel und auf Transportprozesse auswirkt. Über die Charakteristika von Tropfengrößen gibt es nur beschränkt Daten. Die meisten Untersuchungen wurden unter Laborbedingungen durchgeführt, nur wenige Studien erfolgten unter natürlichen Bedingungen im Feld, wobei stets nur wenige Ereignisse gemessen wurden. Ziele des Projektes bestehen in 1) der Quantifizierung und dem Vergleich der Tropfengrößenverteilung von Niederschlagsereignissen an vergleichbaren Standorten in Österreich, Tschechien und Neuseeland, 2) der Ableitung von Beziehungen zwischen kinetischer Niederschlagsenergie (KE) und Regenerosivität, 3) der Abschätzung von zeitlichen/saisonalen Variabilität der KE-I Beziehungen und 4) Untersuchung zwischen Regenerosivität und Bodenerosion. An mehreren Standorten in Österreich, Tschechien und Neuseeland sind bzw. werden Distrometer installiert und die die kinetische Energie von Niederschlägen sowie deren Erosivität analysiert. Beziehungen zwischen kinetischer Regenenergie und –intensität werden im Hinblick auf saisonale/monatliche Variabilität untersucht. Für jene Stationen, bei welchen auch Winddaten registriert werden, erfolgt die Abschätzung des Windeinflusses auf die kinetische Energie. Direkt neben den Distrometern werden kleine Erosionsplots installiert, um die erosionauslösende Wirkung dieser Niederschlagsereignisse zu erfassen. Anhand aller Messdaten sollen die bestehenden Beziehungen zwischen Regenenergie und Bodenloslösung und-transport überprüft und gegebenenfalls modifiziert werden.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2015-10-01 - 2018-09-30

Die steigende Nachfrage nach Agrarprodukten und das zunehmende Auftreten meteorologischer Extreme rücken weltweit die Ressourcen Boden und Wasser in den Fokus der Öffentlichkeit. Deshalb gewinnt eine adaptierte Landnutzung als vorbeugendes Element des Boden- und Gewässerschutzes an Bedeutung. Die Planung von Anpassungsstrategien beruht meist auf dem Einsatz numerischer Modelle. Dadurch kann die Wirkung hypothetischer Änderungen der Landnutzung (Landnutzungsszenarien) bei gegenwärtigem und verändertem Klima (Klimaprojektionen) auf Pflanzenwachstum und Wasserhaushalt abgeschätzt und bewertet werden. Vorausgesetzt wird dabei, dass sich die wasserhaushaltsrelevanten Bodeneigenschaften nicht ändern. Vorangegangene Studien haben jedoch gezeigt, dass sich die Bodenstruktur und damit die Wasserspeicherfähigkeit und das Wasserleitvermögen als Folge der Landnutzung signifikant ändern können. Bleiben diese Bodenveränderungen unberücksichtigt, erhöht sich die Unsicherheit der Modellergebnisse. Die Folge könnten Fehlplanungen und eine stärker ressourcenverbrauchende Landnutzung sein. Ziel der Studie ist daher a) die Messung der durch Landbewirtschaftung ausgelösten Änderungen in der Bodenstruktur und damit in den bodenhydraulischen Eigenschaften und b) die Implementierung dieser Ergebnisse in hydrologische Modelle, welche diese Änderungen mittels mathematischer Funktionen quantifizieren. Diese Funktionen beschreiben die Änderungen der Porengrößenverteilung und aufbauend darauf die zeitlichen Änderungen im Wasserspeicher- und Wasserleitvermögen für verschiedene Maßnahmen der Landnutzung (Bodenbearbeitung, Fruchtfolgen, Aufforstung). Um verallgemeinerbare Gesetzmäßigkeiten zum Einfluss der Landnutzung auf die hydrologisch relevanten Bodeneigenschaften abzuleiten, untersuchen wir vergleichbare Landnutzungmaßmahmen bei ähnlichen Böden entlang eines Klimagradienten von Brandenburg bis in die Steiermark. Zur Charakterisierung der hydraulischen Bodeneigenschaften werden Feldmethoden (Haubeninfiltrations- und Farbtracerversuche) und Labormethoden (instationäre Verdunstungsexperimente) miteinander kombiniert. Dies ermöglicht eine verbesserte Trennung zwischen Makroporen- und Matrixporenregion, was grundlegend für die Entwicklung von Funktionen zur Beschreibung nutzungsbedingter Änderungen des Porenraums sein könnte. Wir erwarten, dass sich die verschiedenen Maßnahmen der Landnutzung eher auf die Makroporen auswirken. Die Studie wird unser Wissen über Änderungen des Porenraums bei unterschiedlichen Landnutzungsmaßnahmen vertiefen. Basierend auf dem besseren Prozessverständnis werden wir Methoden und Modelle entwickeln, die den Einflusses einer adaptiven Landnutzung auf die hydrologisch relevanten Bodeneigenschaften, auf den Wasserhaushalt (Bodenwasservorrat, Grundwasserneubildung und Wasserqualität), und die Biomassebildung quantifizieren können. Damit werden Grundlagen für die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Landnutzungssysteme geschaffen.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2013-07-01 - 2014-06-30

Mit Hilfe des Simulationsprogrammes HYDRUS wird die Wasserbewegung (präferenzieller Fließweg) von lehmigen zu tonigen Böden modelliert. In unterschiedlichen Tiefen werden Sensoren eingebaut, um die Feuchtigkeit und Wasserspannung zu messen. Die unbekannten Parameter und Randbedingen werden mit inverser Modellierung abgeschätzt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die verbesserte Abschätzung der Wasserbilanz und Aspekte (Landwirtschaft oder Bergbau) der Wasserverschmutzung in ähnlichen Böden.

Betreute Hochschulschriften